The project management will be supported by two advisory boards.


The IAB has the following responsibilities:

  • Evaluation of the suitability of project proposals for Transnational Access;
  • Validating the requirements with respect to staff and equipment for executing the proposal;
  • Advising the Management Committee with respect to all matters that affect the current and future quality and quantity of access for the facilities;
  • Periodic evaluation of the performance of the Transnational Access project on behalf of the General Assembly and the Management Committee

The IAB consists of an international group of well-known researchers (external and internal to the project) in the area of bio-NMR from countries all over Europe that will select the applications for the access programme. The principal investigators of the eight NMR RIs represent an internal vote.

External Member Institution
Norbert Müller Johannes Kepler University, Austria
Fred Allain Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich (ETHZ), Switzerland
Dusam Uhrín University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Robert Konrat University of Vienna, Austria
Jozef Kowalewski Stockholm University, Sweden
Jesus Jimenez Barbero Instituto de Química Orgánica General, C.S.I.C., Spain
Predrag Novak University of Zagreb, Croatia
Zofia Gdaniec Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
Somer Bekiroglu The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey
András Perczel Eötvös L. University, Hungary
Martin Billeter Göteborg University, Sweden
Hartmut Oschkinat Leibniz-Institute for Molecular Pharmacology (FMP), Germany
Oliver Zerbe Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich (ETHZ), Switzerland
Tibor Liptaj Slovak University of Technology, Slovakia

Internal Member Partner NMR RI
Harald Schwalbe (Coordinator) BMRZ / BMRZ
Janez Plavec SLONMR / NIC
Vladimir Sklenar NCBR / MU
Katalin E. Kövér DEBNMR / UD
Wiktor Koźmiński WARNMR / UNIWAR
Ivano Bertini CERM / CIRMMP
Christina Redfield UOFX / UOFX.AL



The INC will play a key role to ensure that the different networking activities are carried out in the best way possible in order to comply with the objectives of the networking activities. The INC will evaluate the suitability of the activities proposed by the responsible beneficiaries and advice the Management Committee. The members for International Science Council have been chosen according to their merits in the field of Bio-NMR.

External Members Institution
John Markley National Magnetic Resonance Facility at Madison, USA
The BioMagResBank, USA
Heinz Rüterjans Institute of Biophysics, Goethe University, Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Alexander Arseniev Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia